The Role of the Governing Body

The governing body works to support the overall development of the pupils. All governors contribute to raising standards for all pupils. This involves providing a strategic view for the school, holding the headteacher to account and ensuring financial probity.

The full Governing Body meets 4 times a year and at other times as members of various committees. School Governors have legal duties, powers and responsibilities. They can only act collectively, not individually. The Governors are made up of parents, members of staff, Gosforth Schools’ Trust representatives and co-opted governors from the wider community.

In order to carry out this work governors:

  • work closely with the school team
  • work on committees to which the governing body has delegated key areas of responsibility. These meet on a regular basis – at least once each term. visit the school
  • attend training
  • recognise that the headteacher is responsible for the implementation of policy, management of the school and the implementation of the curriculum
  • self-evaluate their own practices on a regular basis 


Staffing, Finance and Premises Committee

The Staffing, finance and Premise Committee make decisions regarding appointment of staff, staffing structure, monitoring the school finances and budget, ensuring the school is financially accountable and following financial procedures. The committee meets at least once a term.

Members: Richard Hukin(chair), Helen Sykes, Tarquin Cross, Val Hay, Gill Mckay, Bev Armstrong

Curriculum and Performance Committee 

The Curriculum and Performance committee look at the teaching, learning and attainment of the school, ensuring that all children achieve their potential.

The committee meets once a term.

Members: Helen Sykes(chair), Ian Laverick, Gurminder Marwaha, Neil Kirtley, Gill McKay, Bev Armstrong, Danielle Cooley/Carolyn Appleby

 In-Year Admissions Committee

The Admissions Committee makes decisions regarding in-year admissions, always following statutory guidance and agreed policies.

The committee meet as required.

Members: Tarquin Cross, Val Hay, Gill McKay

Appeals (Discipline, Discretionary Awards, Dismissal, Grading, Grievance, Pay and Redundancy)

Any three governors who have not been involved in the original decision will convene as a committee to hear appeals.

Link Governors

We have Link Governors who visit school regularly and work alongside staff and children as well as supporting the school to evaluate areas of its work and report back to the Governing Body.

Our Link Governors oversee areas such as Safeguarding, Early Years and areas which are linked to our School Development Plan.

  • Mrs Helen Sykes

    Chair and Parent Governor

    I am passionate about our children’s education. Not just the academic progress, but the ‘learning journey’ approach to building their confidence and the enjoyment of learning, which is such a big part of school life at Brunton First School.

  • Miss Val Hay

    Community Governor

    I try and support the school in any way I can. I visit on a regular basis and always find a vibrant and caring atmosphere.

  • Mr Richard Hukin

    Foundation Governor

    I am passionate about the education and learning of children, as well as being developed mentally I am also a keen advocate of the importance of physical activity and the important role this plays in the development of our children.

  • Mr Tarquin Cross

    Community Governor- Vice Chair

    I am very proud of our school and its achievements and am immensely thankful for everything it continues to do for our children and the local community.

  • Mr Kirtley

    Parent Governor

    I am interested in being a parent governor as I am keen to support the school in any way I can so all children in our community get the best possible start in life with a great education, in a safe, caring and happy environment.

  • Mr Marwaha

    Parent Governor

    I consider myself a curious, amiable, inclusive, environmentally friendly and hard working person. I have a passion for learning new skills and meeting new people.

  • Mr Ian Laverick


    One of the best parts of being on Newcastle City Council was the fact I was on the very first board of governors at Brunton First School. I have watched the school grow from a field with no buildings to the school we have now; a fantastic school growing from strength to strength.