Brunton First School

Governor Committees

GB Chair – Cristina Wigg

GB Vice Chair – Tarquin Cross


Admissions and Appeals (including in-year admissions and appeals)

 The Admissions Committee makes decisions regarding in-year admissions, always following statutory guidance and agreed policies. The committee meet as required. Any three governors who have not been involved in the original decision will convene as a committee to hear appeals.

Members: Paula Powell, Cristina Wigg (Helen Sykes) Stuart McNaughton, Thom Campion

The committee will comprise the three governors above and they will meet to make any routine decisions as needed; for decisions that are not necessarily straightforward, H Sykes to replace P Powell.


Staffing, Finance and Premises Committee (including health and safety)

 The staffing, finance and Premises Committee make decisions regarding appointment of staff, staffing structure, monitoring the school finances and budget, ensuring the school is financially accountable and following financial procedures. The committee meets at least once a term.

Members: Jonathan Coates (chair), Bev Armstrong, Cristina Wigg, Helen Sykes, Thom Campion, Andy Downey, Carolyn Appleby (Associate)


Curriculum and Performance Committee

The Curriculum and Performance committee look at the teaching, learning and attainment of the school, ensuring that all children achieve their potential. The committee meets once a term.

Members: Stuart McNaughton (chair), Bev Armstrong, Sophie Lee, Paula Powell, Cristina Wigg, Helen Sykes, Samantha Morrison, Tarquin Cross, Carolyn Appleby (Associate)


Link Governors

We have Link Governors who visit school regularly and work alongside staff and children as well as supporting the school to evaluate areas of its work and report back to the Governing Body. Our Link Governors oversee areas such as safeguarding, Pupil Premium, Early Years and areas which are linked to our School Development Plan.


Covid Committee

Informal committee for any issues prior to going to full governing body.

Members: Bev Armstrong, Cristina Wigg, Helen Sykes, Tarquin Cross, Stuart McNaughton


Flexible Working Committee

Members: Bev Armstrong, Thom Campion, Jonathan Coates.